Employee of the Year

Brian Benson and Jimmy Ruby are the 2022 City of Falls Church Employees of the Year

The community-led Employee Review Board selected Benson for guiding the purchase of new Public Works equipment, which has led to efficiencies and higher production. Ruby was selected for managing multiple Recreation and Parks programs during position vacancies.

Brian Benson square pic

Benson played a key role in purchasing three pieces of equipment for Public Works: an asphalt roller that increases production on patches; a hotbox, which allows the department to apply more asphalt, thereby increasing production; and a skid steer, which allows crew members to attach different asphalt equipment. The nomination read, in part, "Without Brian's expertise, these purchases may have been ordered incorrectly, or not at all. Dedicating almost 30 years to the City, Brian has consistently achieved high results."

Jimmy Ruby square pic

Ruby received three nominations, all highlighting his dedication to the Recreation and Parks Department and how he has positively impacted hundreds of City families. To help with vacancies in the department, he pivoted from one of the most intense positions (winter youth sports), to another highly intense position (summer camps), and then back winter youth sports in one year. One nomination read, "In every interaction I've had with Jimmy, he's always led from a perspective of doing what's best for kids' growth, safety and enjoyment. Jimmy has set a very high bar within the City for getting multiple stakeholders moving in the same direction. He's a gift to the Recreation and Parks Department."

The other 2022 nominees were David Bjerke (Elections), Nate Dupree (IT Services), Ali Khavari (Public Works), Behailu Kifle (Public Works), Rachel Kindell (Aurora House), Mike Statie (Emergency Management), and Scarlett Williams (Public Works). 

Nominations for the 2023 Employee of the Year will open in early 2024.

Previous Employee of the Year Winners

2021Veronica PrinceCity Clerk's Office
2020Joe CarterEmergency Management
2019Jeremy EdwardsDepartment of Public Works
2018Carly AubreyPlanning Department
2017Ibby AcostaFinance Department
2016Joe DowlingPublic Works
2015Missy ElliottPolice Department
2014Megan GrahamCourt Services
2013Leslyn BarrowHousing and Human Services
2012Cary FrostickMary Riley Styles Public Library
2011Susan RichterHousing and Human Services
2010Kathy AllanEnvironmental Services
2009Rachel KindellAurora House
2008Ed LancasterPolice Department
2007Marshall WebsterMary Riley Styles Public Library
2006Beverly ReichHuman Resources
2005Debralee WoodburyRecreation and Parks
2004Jill Anne SpencePlanning Department
2003Dan EllisPolice Department
2002Ali KhanEnvironmental Services
2001Deborah TaylorRegistrar
2000Butch GoffRecreation and Parks
1999Linda WeikleRecreation and Parks
1998Danny SchlittRecreation and Parks
1997Robert GoffEnvironmental Services
1996Dagmar McGillMary Riley Styles Public Library
1995Donna AhartAurora House
1994Debra GeePlanning Department
1993Bruce TaylorPolice Department
1992Ralph LewisEnvironmental Services
1991Annette MillsEnvironmental Services
1990Melodie BaronHousing and Human Services
1989Sue SpikerCity Attorney's Office
1989Lieutenant Greg KingPolice Department
1988Howard HermanRecreation and Parks
1987Robert CompherEnvironmental Services