
Important Vehicle Information from: 
Tom Clinton, the Commissioner of the Revenue 

(See back for local jurisdiction contact and vehicle registration information!)

In order to stop taxing any moved-out vehicle, we need proof of your vehicle’s registration in your new 
Virginia jurisdiction. Register your car there first, and then call us at (703) 248-5065. We’ll call that jurisdiction and 
quickly verify it over the phone! See the list of local jurisdiction phone numbers and websites on the back of this flyer to 
register your vehicle there today! If you’ve moved out-of-state, we must have a copy of your vehicle’s title from your 
new state (best) or the registration (w/date) to reduce your tax bill. Your new state’s title can be faxed to (703) 248-
5212, or scanned and emailed to: commissioner@fallschurchva.gov.  Moved overseas? We’ll need your new diplomatic 
address and a copy of your vehicle’s bill of lading. Important, please follow the process above to receive an accurate 
and prorated tax bill in September!

Call us at (703) 248-5065; we may have made the change before the file was closed to print the forms. Have you 
first contacted the DMV by phone (804-497-7100) or via their website:  www.dmvnow.com, or visited the Falls 
Church City DMV Select Office and gotten a DMV sold date, and turned in your old license plates? This DMV 
sold date MUST be done first to stop the taxing. We can verify existing DMV sold dates over the phone, and then 
enter your sold date in our COR records. Addresses can be changed in person by completing DMV Form ISD 01, 
and then we’ll change it in our Commissioner records. *The Treasurer’s Office will mail out a prorated tax bill in 
September, with your new move-out date, to your new address. 

Have you moved out of Falls Church City and within Virginia, or to another state, or overseas?  

Have you sold, donated, totaled in an accident, or traded-in a car and the status change is not reflected on your 
2013 Vehicle Verification Form? 

What are the three things you should always do when you move? 

1.  Register your vehicle in your new jurisdiction. It’s usually required by law within the first 30 or 60 days after  	                                         	
     your move into a new Virginia locality, or into a new state, and to avoid a late filing penalty.
2.  Contact the VA DMV and notify them of your change in address within Virginia, or tell them about your new    	
     out-of-state address and give your move-out date from Virginia.               
3.  Contact your old jurisdiction, and provide them with the proof that you have registered your vehicle in your 	  	
     new locality or new state, and they can stop taxing your vehicle.

Would you like help removing your old decal and affixing your new one? 

Commissioner Clinton will usually be able to do this between 9am and 5pm, or we can lend you a decal scraping tool.

 Should I turn in my old license plates if I buy a new vehicle?  Can I buy personalized or specialty plates at the 
DMV Select Office?

You can transfer your old license plates at the dealership, or at the FCC DMV Select Office once the vehicle is 
accessible in the DMV records, which usually takes 3-4 weeks. You can bring the license plates in for a partial 
refund if 6 or more months are remaining on the plates, or just to have them recycled. A license plate surrender 
receipt is the best way to make sure your old vehicle gets taken out of your name, and that your City car tax bill 
gets reduced. You can order personalized or specialty plates at the DMV Select Office or on-line at: www.dmvnow.
com and search for the link “license plate purchase” under the tab “Vehicles”. 

How does the Falls Church City DMV Select Office make life easier for City residents, City business owners and 
City & School employees? 

Our convenient location on the first floor of the East Wing of City Hall and friendly staff can process most DMV 
vehicle-related transactions, and any Commissioner business in just one trip, and usually within minutes. We 
handled over 26,000 transactions last year. Approximately 5% of each DMV Select dollar collected is returned to 
the City’s budget, although not directly to the Commissioner’s Office for staffing purposes. The $5 fee is currently not 
collected at the DMV Select Offices and all other DMV costs are always the same price.

Please READ



Alexandria City				    301 King St  (Office hours 8-5)	 		  www.alexandriava.gov
(703) 838-4560  Fax: (703) 706-3996	               Alexandria, VA 22314	         		              (annual decal required)
		
Arlington County				    2100 Clarendon Blvd, #200  (Office hours 8-5)	 www.arlingtonva.us/cor
(703) 228-3135  Fax: (703) 228-7581		  Arlington, VA 22201				    (annual decal required)
		
Fairfax City					     10455 Armstrong St  (Office hours 8:30-5)	   www.fairfaxva.gov
(703) 385-7881  Fax: (703) 359-2499		  Fairfax, Virginia 22030			   (annual decal required)
		
Fairfax County  (Office hours 8-4:30)		  Fairfax County Dept of Taxation, #223   	 www.fairfaxcounty.gov/dta
(703) 222-8234  Fax: (703) 324-3929		  12000 Government Center Pkwy, 		  (no decal required)
						      Fairfax, VA 22035-0001

Falls Church City  (COR hours 8-5)	 	 300 Park Ave, Suite #104-E  (DMV 9-4)	 www.fallschurchva.gov
(703) 248-5065  Fax: (703) 248-5212		  Falls Church, VA 22046-3301		           	 Email: commissioner@fallschurchva.gov

Herndon - Town of      			   PO Box 427  (Office hours 8-5)	 		  www.herndon-va.gov
(703) 435-6813  Fax: (703) 787-7325		  Herndon, VA 20172-0427			   (annual decal required)
		
Leesburg - Town of				    PO Box 88 (Office hours 8:30-5)	 		  www.leesburgva.gov
(703) 777-2760  Fax: (703) 771-2727		  Leesburg, VA 20178-0088		       	  (permanent decal required)
		
Loudoun County				    PO Box 347  (Office hours 8:30-5)		  www.loudoun.gov/cor
(703) 777-0260  Fax: (703) 444-1477		  Leesburg, VA 20178-0347			   (annual decal required)
		
Manassas City					    9027 Center St #104  (Office hours 8:30-5)	 www.manassascity.org/
(703) 257-8221  Fax: (703) 257-5344		  Manassas, Virginia 20110-5463		  (no decal required)
		
Manassas Park City				    One Park Center Ct				    www.cityofmanassaspark.us
(703) 335-8825  Fax: (703) 335-2766		  Manassas Park, Virginia 20111-2395		  (annual decal required) 
						      (Hours 8:30-5, closed 1:30-3)
		   

Prince William County			   1 Complex Ct  (Office hours 8-5)		  www.pwcgov.org/tax
(703) 792-6730  Fax: (703) 792-4673		  Prince William, VA 22192-9201		  (no decal required)
		
Stafford County				    PO Box 98  (Office hours 8-4:30)			  www.co.stafford.va.us 
(540) 658-4132  Fax: (540) 658-4120		  Stafford, VA 22555-0098			   (no decal required)
		
*Virginia Dept of Motor Vehicles		  *PO Box 27412  (Hours M-F 8-5, Sat 8-12)	 *www.dmvnow.com
*(804) 497-7100 Fax: (804) 367-6631		  Richmond, VA 23261-7412			   *(always contact the DMV and the COR 

     Locality Name		                Mailing Address 	    Website

The Commissioner of the Revenue’s Office (open M–F, 8 am- 5 pm) and the Falls Church City DMV Select Office (*note: 
open M–F, 9 am – 4 pm) are both located at 300 Park Avenue, Suite #104E, Falls Church, VA 22046. That’s above the 
Police Department on the 1st floor of the East Wing of City Hall, near the Community Center. Our phone number is  
(703) 248-5065 and our fax number is (703) 248-5212. Contact us by e-mail at: commissioner@fallschurchva.gov or visit 

the City’s website at: www.fallschurchva.gov.
All vehicles parked in Falls Church City must have a red 2013 City decal on the windshield until 11-15-13, or until your green 2014 decal arrives 
on the back of your tax bill in early September. After 11-15-13, you’ll need a green 2014 decal on your vehicle to avoid a ticket. Most vehicle 
decals cost $33. There are no decal exceptions for out-of-state vehicles or residents, short term residency situations, military or State Department 
employees or diplomats. Contact the COR for more details about car taxes and decal fees. Vehicles without City decals are subject to a $50 ticket. 
Everyone must pay their fair share. See a vehicle with no City decal or an expired decal? Send confidential tips to: taxevaders@fallschurchva.gov.

(See back for additional vehicle information!)

  when you move, buy or sell a vehicle)

*


