Planning Commission


  • First and third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. 
  • Upcoming Meetings: Check website calendar
  • Past Virtual Meetings: Scroll down to widget below or visit the City's webcasts website. Scroll to the Archives section, then the Planning Commission section. Scroll to find meetings.
  • Public Comment at meetings: If you public comment is available at a meeting, you can sign up here to speak.

Alternate Link to View Planning Commission Meetings

If there are technical difficulties with the link below, use this link to watch the meeting.

To get notifications of Planning meetings and agendas, subscribe to the Planning Commission Calendar. 

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Meeting materials are posted to Granicus, the webcast provider, along with video of the meeting.

To receive updates via text message or email including notice of cancellation or rescheduling and posting of agendas, please follow this link. Agenda packages are generally available on Thursday prior to a Monday meeting. If you are unable to find the information desired, please contact the Planning Division on 703-248-5040 (TTY 711).


The seven members are appointed by the City Council for four year terms. Each member is paid $100 monthly and the Chair is paid $150 monthly.

  • Brent Krasner (Chair)
  • Tim Stevens
  • Melissa Teates
  • Robert Puentes
  • Cory Weiss 
  • Andrea Caumont
  • Derek Hyra

Staff Liaison

City Council Liaison


The Planning Commission Studies and recommends changes to the city's Comprehensive Plan and reviews all site plans to ensure consistency with the Plan. Annually, the commission prepares and revises a 5 year capital improvements program, including capital budget recommendations. The Planning Commission makes recommendations on the preservation of historical landmarks, and design of public bridges, street fixtures, and other public structures and appurtenances. The Planning Commission advises the City Council and the City Manager.